After learning how to make fresh pasta from one of my cooking classes, my husband and I were raring to try it at home with our “new” pasta maker. My husband’s aunts gave it to us two years ago as they were not using it at all, but we had to find some missing parts for it. Finally it was ready to use and we could not be any happier!

Fresh pasta dough

Recipe from Chef Anthony of Home Chef School

Yields 1.5 lbs

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 3 to 3 1/2 cups “00” or all-purpose flour*, plus more for work surface

METHOD:

  1. Place eggs, egg yolks, olive oil, and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the dough hook attachment.
  2. Add 3 cups flour and begin mixing dough on lowest speed. Gradually increase speed to medium-low and knead until smooth, occasionally stopping mixer to pull dough off hook and adding more flour as necessary to keep dough from sticking, about 10 minutes.
  3. ALTERNATIVELY (this is what we did; see video below), make a “crater” in the flour and put the eggs, egg yolks, olive oil, and salt in the middle and mix.
  4. Wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour before using.

*Unfortunately, my husband and I had some issues. From my cooking class I heard that semolina is the best type of flour for making pasta. For one thing, we weren’t sure if we were using the right type of semolina flour (semolina #2).062356507442It seemed to be way too gritty. We also didn’t know whether we should use semolina for all 3 to 3 1/2 cups of flour in the recipe… or half semolina, half all-purpose??? Although I saw some recipes on the internet that mixed the semolina flour with all-purpose, my husband wanted to stick with only semolina for now.

SAMSUNG CSC
Semolina #2. I shouldn’t have mixed all the wet ingredients before putting it in the “crater,” but oh well…

The dough became incredibly tough to work with! That wasn’t what I got in our cooking class! Maybe we should have used less semolina flour, or used a mix with some all-purpose flour. I was getting so frustrated that I just wanted to start over. My husband really had to calm me down.

AND UGH, I HATED MY NEW APRON… I LOOK LIKE A BAG OF POTATOES!

SAMSUNG CSC
A fake smile. I was really struggling with the dough…

My husband wanted to keep working on it while I made a new batch with all-purpose flour this time.

SAMSUNG CSC

After kneading it for some time and adding some water (only on my husband’s hands), dough #1 (with semolina flour) became less tough to work with. We let both dough #1 and #2 (with all-purpose flour) rest for about an hour before using them.

Then we set up the pasta maker!

SAMSUNG CSC
We made “logs” out of the dough and cut “disks” that we made progressively thinner using the pasta machine

We worked in tandem. I held the pasta while my husband cranked the machine.

SAMSUNG CSC
Rolling out sheets of dough #1

Surprisingly, dough #1 became so much easier to roll out with the pasta maker! It came out so much more smoothly compared to dough #2. And I was going to throw it all away…

I don’t know if other pasta makers are the same, but we rolled out our dough to a thickness of #6.

We used my husband’s hockey sticks to hang the pasta… factory-style.

SAMSUNG CSC
He said, “This is the most Canadian thing ever.”
We rolled the sheets of pasta through the fettuccine attachment
We rolled the sheets of pasta through the fettuccine attachment

Note: Don’t let the pasta dry out for too long if you plan on rolling them out into fettuccine. I had to go away for 30 minutes to use my bone stimulator and the pasta sheets were dry, crumbly, and tough to pass through the pasta machine. We pledged not to make the same mistake again when made pasta again a week and a half later!

We threw in the pasta in a pot of boiling water, waited a few minutes, et voilà… fresh pasta! We served it with some pesto sauce we also made ourselves.

Homemade pesto: Fresh basil leaves, pine nuts, parmesan cheese, garlic
Homemade pesto: Fresh basil leaves, pine nuts, parmesan cheese, garlic
Thank you to Yakun and Angela for this useful wedding gift~~~ We use our mini food processor at least once a week!
Thank you to Yakun and Angela for this useful wedding gift~~~ We use our mini food processor at least once a week!

Great pesto recipe from the Joy of Cooking here

Note that the cheese is absolutely necessary! I omitted the cheese the first time I made homemade pesto (because my husband doesn’t like it) and didn’t get an amazing pesto sauce.

SAMSUNG CSC
You can even see our workstation with bits of pasta hehe
SAMSUNG CSC
Fettuccine with shrimp pesto sauce with brussels sprouts

We ended up eating dinner at 10:00 pm. LOL. It turned out that dough #1 was far more superior in taste and quality than dough #2! I am so happy my husband didn’t give up on it. Team effort! Later on, we made pasta again with a mix of semolina and all-purpose flour and that worked out well too.

We also made vegetable lasagna with our homemade pasta. Because we ended up with 3 POUNDS OF PASTA for two people. Hahaha.

SAMSUNG CSC

I just put all my favourite vegetables in it… eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms with a spinach-ricotta cheese sauce. The spinach-ricotta cheese sauce, unfortunately, was a flop… why would you ever put NUTMEG in here?!?! Do not try this recipe from Serious Eats, please. I should have stuck to a classic, uncomplicated recipe that I’ve tried before like this one.
I just put all my favourite vegetables in it… eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms with a spinach-ricotta cheese sauce. The spinach-ricotta cheese sauce, unfortunately, was a flop… why would you ever put NUTMEG in here?!?! Do not try this recipe from Serious Eats, please. I should have stuck to a classic, uncomplicated recipe that I’ve tried before like this one.

The pasta was incredibly soft in the lasagna! It was so easy to cut through. It tasted so velvety…

My mother-in-law also recently gave us a ravioli mould that we can’t wait to try!

img41c

Here’s to never going back to boxed, dried pasta!
(Except when we’re lazy hehe)
