No, this wasn’t a cooking class on French cuisine… it was a cooking class taught entirely in French. With everyone in the class speaking only in French!

By this time I was on my third week of French immersion school and I wasn’t sure if I could survive the class. While I was able to express myself coherently, I had (and continue to have) trouble with understanding conversations or instructions around me.

I had long creeped the Atelier & Saveurs schedule for cooking classes that may interest me, and there was one that I just couldn’t pass up:

Menu: Une cuisine chaleureuse et réconfortante

  • Entrée: Potage Parmentier de courge, champignons enoki, crème sure à l’érable, grissini au prosciutto
  • Plat principal: Magret de canard rôti au miel d’épices, polenta crémeuse aux champignons, pétales d’oignons et pointes d’asperges vertes
  • Dessert: Éclair à la crème de pistache, croquant de céréales choco-lactée

It didn’t matter if I understood the chef! I signed up. I would still be able to see how to cook these dishes, and at the very least, eat them!

It was a three-hour long cooking class which included preparing these restaurant-quality dishes and of course, (the best part) eating them in a dining hall. It was very different from my previous cooking classes wherein each class focused on preparing a certain type of food (soups, starches, salads and appetizers, meat, fish, poultry, etc.) and we just ate them in the kitchen. The cost of both these three-hour cooking classes was around $100.

Only a 15-minute walk from our apartment, Ateliers & Saveurs holds courses on cooking, wine-tasting, and cocktails taught by professionals in the restaurant industry. They have courses literally everyday, in both Québec City and Montréal. It’s the perfect activity for a home cook and/or foodie! I highly recommend taking a class here if you’re visiting town.

dscn4333_zpsokxdhsqy

SAMSUNG CSC
Comment ça marche?

I was a little nervous of how it would all go down. Not for the cooking part, but for the French part. I arrived 10 minutes early. People were already ~mingling~ in the dining hall.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

EVERYONE came with a partner or a group (couples, girl friends). I was the only loner LOL. I was a little shy to interact in French, so I just took photos hehe.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC
My cocktail with rosemary

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Then it was time to start! Aprons on!

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC
Oyster and shiitake mushrooms
SAMSUNG CSC
Ingredients for our éclair
SAMSUNG CSC
Our instructor, Chef Antoine

We were about 12 people in the class and worked on the three dishes simultaneously. First, we made the pâte à choux for the éclair. Next, we worked on the veg prep for the two savoury dishes. We started the soup soon after. Then, we seared the duck breasts… you get it. The three hours went by just like that. We also plated the dishes ourselves. After tasting each course, we went back to the kitchen to do a bit more cooking and assemble the dish on the plate.

Let me break it down per dish:

Entrée: Potage Parmentier de courge, champignons enoki, crème sure à l’érable, grissini au prosciutto

My translation: Butternut squash soup with enoki mushrooms and maple-sour cream, served with a prosciutto-wrapped grissini bread stick

Recipe here

SAMSUNG CSC
Mixing all the vegetables in the pot (onions, leeks, butternut squash)
SAMSUNG CSC
Plating lesson
SAMSUNG CSC
Enoki mushrooms and prosciutto-wrapped bread stick
SAMSUNG CSC
Placing the maple syrup-sour cream-chive mix on the base of the bowl
SAMSUNG CSC
“Est-ce-que tu peux prendre ma photo?” LOL
SAMSUNG CSC
Pouring the soup on top of it all
SAMSUNG CSC
Bon appetit!
SAMSUNG CSC
We also had some bread with balsamic vinegar + olive oil dip (my favourite)

Plat principal: Magret de canard rôti au miel d’épices, polenta crémeuse aux champignons, pétales d’oignons et pointes d’asperges vertes

My translation: Duck breast pan-seared with honey and spices, served with creamy polenta, mushrooms, onion petals, and asparagus

Recipe here

SAMSUNG CSC
Duck breasts
SAMSUNG CSC
Slicing a little grid on the fat to liberate more fat from it
SAMSUNG CSC
Searing the duck breasts FAT SIDE DOWN; the dish’s other accompaniments
SAMSUNG CSC
Making the wine-marinated onions (not in the recipe)
SAMSUNG CSC
Duck breast searing 101
SAMSUNG CSC
Wow~
SAMSUNG CSC
Making the polenta
SAMSUNG CSC
Making the polenta and sautéing the mushrooms
SAMSUNG CSC
Plating lesson 2
SAMSUNG CSC
Polenta first then mushrooms
SAMSUNG CSC
We sliced the duck breasts after giving them time to rest on a grill
SAMSUNG CSC
My favourite plate of the night
SAMSUNG CSC
These marinated onions were absolutely amazing

Dessert: Éclair à la crème de pistache, croquant de céréales choco-lactée

My translation: Éclair filled with pistachio cream, topped with crunchy milk chocolate Rice Krispies

Recipe here

SAMSUNG CSC
Making the pâte à choux

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC
Our turn
SAMSUNG CSC
My work. Ewwww
SAMSUNG CSC
Making the pistachio cream filling
SAMSUNG CSC
Dessert is served!
SAMSUNG CSC
With some rooibos tea, of course!

At the end of the night, Chef Antoine thanked us for our participation.

SAMSUNG CSC

All in all, I understood about 70% of what was said in the class. Watching all those episodes of Un Chef à L’oreille and Les Chefs and using French cookbooks paid off! At first I was shy to ask questions in front of the whole class, but I just gave it a go. For example, I learned what ciboulette and trancher meant! Whenever I didn’t understand a process, like how to cook the duck breast, I just quietly asked the chef in private. LOL. Chef Antoine was extremely accommodating!

During the tasting, I forced myself to converse with those seated beside me… two men that were my dad’s age. Haha.

Since then I’ve taken two more cooking classes at Ateliers & Saveurs – a one-hour lunchtime class (tuna tartare) and another three-hour class (five tapas dishes). The one-hour class (30 minutes cooking and 30 minutes tasting) costs only $25 – not too bad if you ask me.

Tuna tartare

dscn4330_zpsnwim6ozp
Tartare de thon au gingembre mariné et mousseline d’avocat, salade mesclun, vinaigrette de balsamique blanc

Tapas night

SAMSUNG CSC
CLOCKWISE FROM LEFT: 1. Bouquet de crevettes croustillantes, trempette façon Béarnaise; 2. Verrine de fondue de poireaux au vin blanc, pétoncles juste poêlés et jus au safran; 3. Croustillant de Wonton au canard confit, shiitake et oignon vert au miel; 4. Petit pot de mousse au chocolat et éclats de noisettes caramélisées; 5. Satay de poulet, sauce aux arachides et coriandre fraîche

Needless to say, these cooking classes have been great. I’ve been hitting two birds with one stone – improving my listening skills in French AND my cooking! And being able to indulge in delicious food (without cleaning up) doesn’t hurt either.

dscn4328_zpsqb1t31w6


Ateliers & Saveurs is located at 830 rue St Joseph Est, Québec City, Québec G1K 3C9. Their Montréal location is at 444 rue Saint Francois-Xavier, Montreal, Québec H2Y 2T3. Cooking, wine-tasting, and cocktail courses are offered on a daily basis. Make your reservation here.

