Since coming back to Québec City, I’ve been DYING to go to the Marché du Vieux-Port. It’s only a 25 to 30-minute walk from our place.

SAMSUNG CSC

It’s open year-round with various stalls selling fresh fruits and vegetables, seafood, bread, pastries, jam, cheese, and other random stuff from local Québec producers.

SAMSUNG CSC

My husband and I found this table showing the different produce and seafood in season on the market’s website.

4saisonsdumarche
Les 4 saisons du marché (marchevieuxport.com)

As you can see, it was slim pickings in November when we went. While there were a lot of choices for seafood, we mainly encountered these fruits and vegetables:

  • Apples, apples, and more apples
  • Rootcrops like carrots and potatoes
  • Leeks
  • Cranberries

Because not many vegetables grow in the winter (at least in Québec), the market keeps itself busy with the Christmas market. It just opened this weekend and it will go until January 3rd, 2015. We saw some Christmas market stalls already setting up shop when we went.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

There was also a huge Indian store with quite the selection of spices, tea, and international products.

We didn’t really buy much, except a little basket of apples and a veal pie (because we were too busy – and lazy – to cook that weekend).

SAMSUNG CSC
You fall dinner plate: Veal and apple pie with carrots, spinach, beets, and couscous salad

My husband and I now try to buy local as much as possible. Sometimes it’s not possible, like for bananas, for example. Will we give up bananas? No, of course not. But if we had the choice between local and imported for the same fruit or vegetable at the grocery store (mushrooms, for example), we would definitely choose local even if it was slightly more expensive.

Before, when I bought groceries myself, I didn’t really care about where my food came from. I just cared about the price and the quality. My husband made me realize that buying local is just good for everybody – for you and your health, for local farmers, for the community, and for the environment. Everybody wins!

We’re certainly not elitist snobs that ask whether every single thing we buy is local. We care, but not THAT much. Case in point:

This episode was just hilarious because THEY ACTUALLY WENT TO THE CHICKEN FARM. Hahaha.

Of course at farmer’s markets like this one, nearly everything is locally grown or produced. I love chatting with farmers and producers at farmer’s markets to find out more about their process and their food. I didn’t do it so much here because I had to do it in French, hehe. I did ask about how nougat was made though 😛

SAMSUNG CSC

We came back last week for a cooking class on how to make cranberry compote and cranberry biscotti.

aff_ateliermvpq_noel2015

The scoop on that coming up!

img_20151121_115910317_zpszgi1ju4g
Cranberry and pistachio biscotti dipped in white chocolate

Marché du Vieux-Port de Québec is located at 160 quai St-André, Québec City, Québec, Canada G1K 3Y2. It is open year-round, seven days out the week (Mondays to Fridays 9:00 am to 6:00 pm; weekends 9:00 am to 5:00 pm).

