Last year, a family friend gave my family an entire box of biscotti for Christmas. And I ate nearly all of it. Once, I even ate five in one sitting. LOL.

Since then I’ve wanted to make biscotti but I don’t know, I was just scared (?) to do it by myself. I didn’t want to mess it up and end up with inedible biscuits. So you can imagine my enthusiasm when I saw that my local farmer’s market was offering a cooking class for… yes, BISCOTTI.

SAMSUNG CSC

aff_ateliermvpq_noel2015

And it was only $5 for one and a half hour, including all the ingredients! Compare that to my $100 three-hour cooking classes. I called to reserve a spot immediately… in French 😎

Four other people signed up for that morning’s class, but for some reason, I was the only one who showed up! My husband felt bad for me and the instructor so he joined us. He was just going to wait around the farmer’s market anyway. It was as if we had a private cooking class!

We used cranberries as our main ingredient. Many farmers were selling cranberries at the market as it was in season. We made:

  • Compote de canneberges à la vanille et à l’orange
  • Biscotti aux canneberges et aux pistaches

My pictures are horrible because my camera died and I had only my phone. Trust me, they tasted better than they looked!

Compote des canneberges à la vanille et à l’orange

My translation: Cranberry-orange compote

Recipe here

img_20151121_102318844_zpsqcks5dga
This recipe was incredibly EASY. Mix all the ingredients and bring to a boil.
img_20151121_102903534_zpsuxtpatlj
Wait until 3/4 of the cranberries have burst (word of the day: éclater)
img_20151121_111145437_zpsrr6llveh
Place into cute little jars like these (courtesy of your friendly neighbourhood Dollar Store!)

Biscotti aux canneberges et aux pistaches

My translation: Cranberry and pistachio biscotti

Recipe here

In summary, making biscotti requires two stages of baking (with one long cooling stage in between) so that the biscuits harden enough.

img_20151121_104712768_hdr_zpsulmtjmox
After mixing all the ingredients with the stand mixer, then by hand (second word of the day: grumeleuse)
img_20151121_104424260_hdr_zps20simyp8
Forming the dough into “logs”
img_20151121_104808193_zpsxlwiomdw
After the first bake. Allowed to cool for 45 minutes.
img_20151121_105226727_zpsufngzzlv
Cutting the logs diagonally using a bread knife
img_20151121_112810503_zpspddhe7fc
Baking the second time
img_20151121_115904655_zpsfbxvn2i9
And then it was done! We dipped them in white chocolate~
img_20151121_115910317_zpszgi1ju4g
Looks like I will get my biscotti this year again… and I can make a lot more for sharing! I can’t believe I was scared to do this by myself – it was pretty easy and straightforward.

We got to take home two compote jars and 16 pieces of biscotti… all these and the lesson for $10! But those 16 pieces of biscotti didn’t last long, unfortunately. We gave some to my in-laws who were visiting us that weekend. We also gave some to my husband’s cousin and her boyfriend. And then I ate four for breakfast the next day. Hehehe.

12287407_10153776950343748_835105036_o201_zps6ntyfxib
The biscotti munchers! (Photo from Manon)

Despite having only two people in the cooking class, the farmer’s market didn’t lose too much on it. While Johannie, our instructor, pre-baked six biscotti logs for the four other people who signed up, she said they could sell the rest of the biscotti at the farmer’s market’s café. She was just surprised that the others didn’t show up because many people normally come to the cooking classes (she once even had a canning class of 30 people!). It wasn’t even raining or snowing or anything. Weird. They also have lots of workshops for little kids. Johannie said this week they were making snow globes!

Again I hit two birds with one stone – I improved my French (by listening to and asking Johannie maaaaany questions) AND I finally learned how to make biscotti!


Marché du Vieux-Port de Québec is located at 160 quai St-André, Québec City, Québec, Canada G1K 3Y2. It is open year-round, seven days out the week (Mondays to Fridays 9:00 am to 6:00 pm; weekends 9:00 am to 5:00 pm). Thank you to Johannie of the Atelier du Marché for our (inadvertent) private cooking class!

