I now call Québec City home. In November 2014 my husband was accepted into a Master’s in Geology program at INRS (Institut national de la recherche scientifique). We were both working at the time and had ONE DAY to search for an apartment in Québec City. I organized 12 appointments that day and luckily we got to seal the deal with a place we really liked.

Looking for an apartment in Québec last year
Looking for an apartment in Québec last year

We officially moved into our apartment in January 2015. At least my husband did. I barely lived here with my crazy work schedule at the mine and wedding planning errands back in Toronto. And with the accident and everything, I didn’t start really living here until a month ago!

As I moved in to our apartment five months too late after our wedding, my husband and I felt like real newlyweds. In wedded bliss, we felt like we were on our honeymoon again. Only this time no one ended up in a hospital.

Highlights of my first week back in Québec:

  • My husband making crêpe for breakfast the day after I got back! He is undoubtedly the King of Crêpes. At least he’s my king. 😊

SAMSUNG CSC
Crêpe filled with softened apples and topped with walnuts and maple syrup
  • Doing my French oral placement test at Bouchereau Lingua International (BLI), my new French immersion school. I felt like I completely BOMBED it (plus I got a dismal 53.3% in a written test I completed earlier) but I was still placed in the pre-intermediate (A2) level. 😅 I was to start after Thanksgiving.

SAMSUNG CSC

  • Walking around this beautiful city to get around and for exercise! Will have a multi-part series on this!
IMG_20151008_145719261_HDR
One of the escaliers up to Haute-Ville
No other person in a neck brace can be THIS fashionable #ootd
No other person in a neck brace can be THIS fashionable #ootd
SAMSUNG CSC
Our ‘hood – St-Roch
SAMSUNG CSC
Walking partner
Tea time
Tea time (check out them battle scars)
  • COOKING LOTS, OBVI!

Homemade chicken stock
Homemade chicken stock
Banana bread
Banana bread
After cooking adobo… while unpacking
Simple carrot, zucchini, chickpea salad with mint
Simple carrot, zucchini, chickpea salad with mint
Mung bean and lentil curry
Mung bean and lentil curry
  • Opening and organizing our wedding gifts!
SAMSUNG CSC
Thank you to all our family and friends for the wonderful gifts!!!
  • My husband’s cousin Manon’s 30th birthday. My first time in a bar again in SIX MONTHS?!?!?! She was so happy I was there!
SAMSUNG CSC
Bonne fête, Manon!
food
Her boyfriend Doum made DELICIOUS TACOS!!! Merci, Doum!
NOMS
NOMS
groupe
Toute la gang
12165921_10153704404848748_1975041167_n
Manon: “I’m going to send this to my mom!”
cake
The best cake of LIFE – shooter style!
Our first turkey
Our first turkey
Hohoohohohooooo
Hohoohohohooooo

🎶 So happy together! 🎶

us

