This recipe came from, of all places, a Longo’s magazine. LOL.

longos

Upon returning from California, I continued going to my physical therapist twice a week because my shoulder area (mainly my right trapezius muscle) was still in constant pain from months of being grossly inactive in my previous neck braces (halo and Minerva jacket). (And huuuuu, they still are to this day. 😖) My younger brother and I walked there in the afternoons and after my appointments we always ate at Longo’s, a GTA supermarket chain. I personally think their salad bar is EXCELLENT and SUPER FRESH though a little pricey ($1.99 per 100 grams). I could literally eat there everyday and I was certainly a happy camper eating there twice a week! One day I got a free copy of Longo’s Experience Magazine and perused it at home.

Here’s how we look longboarding/walking to and from home. #suburbanlife

Stuffed bell peppers has always been on my list of dishes to cook because it’s just GREAT. I finally gave it a go with an interesting choice of filling – bean and couscous – and was not disappointed at all. Usually bell peppers are filled with ground beef, pork, or chicken with rice. This dish was very hearty and had the perfect amount of heat! It wasn’t too spicy but it definitely had some kick to it.

Bean and couscous stuffed bell peppers

From Longo’s Experience Magazine

Serves four

SAMSUNG CSC

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tbsp Longo’s extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp oregano flakes
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, divided
  • 1/2 cup couscous
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 1 small zucchini, grated
  • 1/4 tsp each salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 1 can (398 mL) red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar or crumbled feta cheese
  • 4 bell peppers

METHOD:

  1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Cook onions, garlic, jalapenos, chili powder and oregano for 3 minutes or until softened. Pour in 1 cup of the broth and bring to a boil.
  2. Stir in couscous and parsley; remove from heat. Stir in carrot, zucchini, salt and pepper; cover and let stand for 5 minutes.
  3. Stir beans and cheese into couscous mixture.
  4. Cut peppers in half and remove seeds and ribs. Fill each half with couscous mixture and place in large ovenproof casserole dish. Pour remaining broth in dish and cover.
  5. Bake in preheated 375°F oven for about 30 minutes or until peppers are tender.

TIP: Substitute any type of canned beans in this recipe. For a bigger kick of heat, stir in 1 small can of drained jalapeño slices into the couscous mixture. Make it vegan by omitting the cheese.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION PER SERVING: 352 calories; 17 g protein; 12 g fat; 47 g carbohydrate; 13 g fibre; 10 g sugars; 613 mg sodium.

SAMSUNG CSC
First set of veg to cook
SAMSUNG CSC
With oregano and chili powder – perfect amount of heat to the dish!
SAMSUNG CSC
Second set of veg to cook OFF THE HEAT. I was a bit perplexed by this too but they did cook. I had to cut some carrots by hand because I have a traumatic experience with using a mandolin before.
SAMSUNG CSC
Delicious filling with beans, couscous, and crumbled feta cheese
SAMSUNG CSC
Bell peppers to be filled
SAMSUNG CSC
Ate the filling on top of greens because I WAS SO HUNGRY LOL
SAMSUNG CSC
Et voilà!
