This is my last post wrapping up my stay in Mississauga/Toronto as I recovered for my surgery. It took a while for me to write everything I wanted to share (from all my broken neck experiences to all the food I made), simply because there was a lot of it over a two-month span! If you’ve missed out, this is my first post about arriving in Mississauga from California.

I’d like to think I’m a more talented baker than I am a cook. Everyone loves baked goods. With four younger, growing sibilings, I was assured that someone would eat anything I made even if it didn’t turn out perfectly. With savoury food it wasn’t the case… luckily I have my husband for that now!

275C4799 (1)
Me and my sibs

I love baking for my two youngest siblings, especially when I plan it so that they enjoy a freshly baked snack when they get home from school at around 3:30 pm. Every time I ask them what they want me to make for them, 90% of the time it’s apple crisp. For good reason!

IMG_20150808_192708336
With my sister while I was in the Minerva jacket (August 2015)
IMG_20150808_192842619
Hitting the trails with these guys (August 2015)

I started making this after I always ate it at an exploration camp where I worked as a geologist. I was even using a French recipe (the first one I understood without help)! I must have made this at least six times for my siblings. It comes out great every single time I make it – it’s pretty much gone by the next day. In some cases, it’s gone in the same night!

SAMSUNG CSC
In a 9-inch round glass baking dish
Super low-res picture but it shows all the wonderful apples!
Super low-res picture but it shows all the wonderful apples! When I use a 11 x 7 inch baking dish, I just make 1 1/2 times the recipe.

This fool-proof recipe is very easy and the apple crisp itself is delicious and comforting. The only time-consuming part is cutting all the apples. Luckily my sister has grown old enough to cut them herself. I just make the topping and supervise now. 😊

SAMSUNG CSC
They grow up so fast…

All-star croustade aux pommes (apple crisp)

From Ricardo Cuisine

Serves six

INGREDIENTS:

Topping:

  • 1 1/4 cups (310 ml) quick cooking rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup (75 ml) unsalted butter, softened

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon (2.5 ml) ground cinnamon
  • 3 Cortland apples, peeled and sliced
  • 3 McIntosh apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) lemon juice

*I usually leave the skin on and don’t really pay attention to the apple types, hehe. I personally think there is not enough apples in this recipe, so you can add 2 or 3 more and work out the proportions for the filling. The topping is sufficient for a 9-inch round or 8-inch square baking dish, but you should double it for a much larger baking dish.

METHOD:

  1. With the rack in the lowest position, preheat the oven to 180 °C (350 °F).
  2. Topping: In a bowl, combine the oats, flour, and brown sugar. Add the butter and stir to combine. Set aside.
  3. Filling: In another bowl, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon. Add the apples and lemon juice and stir to combine. Note: You really need the lemon juice here to prevent the apples from browning! I add lemon juice to the apples as soon as they are cut.
  4. Spoon into a 20-cm (8-inch) square baking dish. Cover with the topping. Bake for about 50 minutes. Let cool.
  5. Serve warm or at room temperature.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

Delicious with vanilla ice cream!

