So was this too good to be true? Fresh Ontario fruits and vegetables available at a discount? Literally right next door to my house? My enthusiasm for this program wasn’t met without reservations from some skeptics, namely my dad and my husband.

I had to do some homework before I recommended this seemingly great way to get your weekly produce to all my family and friends.

$10 small fresh box
$10 small fresh box, retailing for $17 to $20 according to Eden Food for Change

Skeptic #1: My dad

“That doesn’t look like $17 worth of stuff.”

While I valued and trusted my dad’s judgement as he was the food shopper, meal planner, and head chef of our family, I wanted to prove him wrong to show that this program was the real deal!

So I went on a mission and weighed everything in the fresh box and went to my local discount grocery store, No Frills, to cross-check their prices. (When you’re in a neck brace, you just don’t have anything better to do. LOL.)

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC
I told my brother, “Take a picture of me for my blog!”

What I came up with:VEG

Though the whole lot wasn’t really worth $17 to $20, it came pretty close. I saved $5.60! I cross-checked prices at a discount grocery store so you would certainly save at least $1 or $2 more if you regularly shop at more up-scale grocery stores such as Loblaw’s or Longo’s.

Skeptic #2: My husband

“This doesn’t seem ethical.”

Anyone who knows my husband knows that he is rather opinionated. While I was just happy to benefit from a bargain on my food, he argued that if this fresh box program was provided by a charitable institution such as Eden Food for Change, then I (someone who can afford groceries at regular price) was taking their resources of volunteer time, money, etc. away from those in actual need.

Was I?

The last and final part of this four-part series up next!

