Inspired by our Mexican night, I made ceviche last night using an Adhelly-approved authentic Mexican recipe.

I called last night “Mexican night done right.” My husband was like, “Uh, sure.” LOL. We’re all familiar with the make-your-own taco/burrito fare so why not change it up? Plus, I always overfill my tacos/burritos and make a mess everywhere!

DSCN4273

Mexican ceviche recipe here

For the ceviche we bought a bar rayé (striped bass) as recommended by the owner of JEF Poissonnerie – Prêt à manger, a poissonnerie near our apartment. He recommended other more affordable choices like mackerel and tilapia for ceviche but we opted for the pricey $27/lb bar rayé. We don’t have this in the Philippines seas and my husband said that he heard that this fish was pretty good.

Marinated bar rayé in lemon juice
Bar rayé marinated in lime juice for four hours

I wanted to make the corn tortillas myself but I didn’t have all the time in the world to cook last night. To make corn tortillas from scratch, Adhelly recommends 100% Mexican Maseca corn flour (we have this in the Latin American store here, YESSSSSS!) and water – 1/4 cup water for every cup of flour. After mixing the ingredients, the dough should be soft, homogeneous, easy to manage, and not so watery (but not so dry either). I don’t have a tortilla press but Adhelly suggests just flattening your tortilla dough between two cutting boards with Ziploc-like plastic above and below it.

The packaged tortilla we got had only corn flour, water, and potassium sorbate as a preservative, so it wasn’t too bad. I made them crispy myself to control the oil content.

DSCN4267
Mexican corn tortillas

I spent some nice, quiet alone time chopping my vegetables away. I used only max 1/4 cup chopped stuffed olives (vs. the recipe‘s 3/4 cup) because I don’t like having too many olives .

I wanted to make these tortilla bowls but the tortillas kept tearing!!! Ugh.

Instead I improvised with the muffin tin:

DSCN4268

To make the tortillas crispy, I brushed them lightly with vegetable oil and either form them into bowls (like above) or place them flat on a baking sheet (for today’s lunch!). I tried heating them on a pan but they didn’t become crispy.

Mix all the ingredients together and you have:

DSCN4273
Mexican night done right with ceviche!

I love the crispiness of the tortillas with the chewiness of the fish and crunchiness of the vegetables! The fish and, well, the entire dish tasted so fresh. Plus, no cooking is required as the lime juice cures the fish and makes it safe to eat.

When I return to Toronto to get this DARN NECK BRACE removed ONCE AND FOR ALL on December 4th (hopefully, if my neck has healed well), Adhelly and I plan to meet up to share more of her Mexican food with me, and my Filipino food to her!


For the freshest fish and seafood on this side of Basse-Ville, visit JEF Poissonnerie – Prêt à manger located at 223 rue Saint-Joseph Est, Québec, Québec, G1K 3B1.

