A month and a half ago, on September 16th, my friends Rohit and Adhelly invited me over their home to celebrate Mexican Independence Day. Adhelly just moved to Canada from Mexico and her fiancé Rohit threw a party in honour of this important day to make her feel very much at home. He asked us to wear either red, white, or green – colours of the Mexican flag!

Rohit ordered authentic Mexican food from restaurant Señor Burrito and Adhelly made some dishes herself. I was beyoooonnndddd excited. Mexican is one of my favourite cuisines and it was such a joy to learn about the different ingredients and cooking methods from a real Mexicana! They had plenty of vegetarian options available for their many vegetarian friends.

Most of the spread - missing the pozole!
Most of the spread – missing the pozole!

SAMSUNG CSC
Adhelly describing the bean quesadilla
Homemade bean quesadilla (yes, including the tortilla!)
Homemade bean quesadilla (yes, including the tortilla!)
Nachos
Homemade guacamole
Guacamole

Adhelly told us the story behind Mexican Independence Day. Long story short, it was about a man named Father Miguel Hidalgo who, on the morning of September 16th, 1810, raised a large, poor but resolute army against the tyranny of Spanish government. She also recounted the different festivities they would do every year. And contrary to popular belief, Cinco de Mayo (May 5th) is NOT Mexican Independence Day!

MY FAVOURITE - CEVICHE! I asked Adhelly for a recipe and I made it at home! Check out my attempt below!
MY FAVOURITE – CEVICHE! It was so fresh and flavourful. I asked Adhelly for a recipe and I made it at home! Check out my attempt below!
SAMSUNG CSC
Taco salad
SAMSUNG CSC
Semi-authentic pozole – Adhelly told me that they normally use pork instead of chicken
My only picture of the happy couple LOL
My only picture of the happy couple LOL sorry Adhelly!

They also ordered jamaican juice (not the country) from jamaica or hibiscus flowers, like here. Although I found everything delicious, Adhelly said that the food wasn’t that good (except for the ceviche). Maybe that’s as good as it’s going to get for a restaurant in a Toronto suburb? She was also disappointed with the portion sizes as they were told that the portions would be bigger.

After we had our fill of all the tasty food, we watched a Mexican-themed movie entitled McFarland, USA. It wasn’t bad! They had a great outdoor set-up with a projector showing the movie on a wall of their house. For some reason Rohit thought he downloaded it but we ended up buying it on Google Play.

We all helped clean up and pitched in about $7 each for the food. I had to call it a night quite early because I needed to go home and lay on my bone stimulator. LOL.

IMG_20150916_232204687

IMG_20150916_232104309

Rohit awarded me with best costume for my green dress! 👗My neck brace is green as well!

Thank you to the lovely couple Rohit and Adhelly who hosted our Mexican night!

Striking a pose at the photobooth at our wedding
Striking a pose at the photobooth at our wedding
275C5317 (2)
Guess who caught my bouquet?
275C5331 (1)
This chica! And lo and behold, the bridal myth came true! When I returned to Canada after the accident, they told me they got engaged~~ 🙂
